Skip to main content
American Studies: Origins and Impact of the Civil War - Smith
Search this Guide
American Studies: Origins and Impact of the Civil War - Smith: Find Articles
A guide to background resources
Use strong keywords:
Pick out the most important words/concepts in your research question. Use keywords such as those experts and scholars would use. These are usually
Avoid terms that can be used in many settings
(like effect, impact, develop)
Use Advanced Search and group keywords by concept:
Use OR between synonyms (expands your results); use AND to combine different subjects (narrows your results)
dental OR teeth OR tooth OR oral
acid AND batteries
Search multiple endings of a word:
Use asterisk, e.g., econom* for economy, economic, economies
Search exact phrases:
Use double quotes. "coral reef"
Choose publication years, scholarly or peer-reviewed, full text, etc.
Choose most recent first or most relevant first
Use the tips to the left to develop successful search strategies.
"civil war" AND econom*
Lincoln AND "Habeas Corpus"
Collection of 2,000s+ scholarly journals and primary documents in a variety of subjects including history, literature, and science. Note: some titles have an embargo on the most recent year(s). Ask the IRC for details.
History Reference Center
Full text reference and non-fiction books, history journals, documents, biographies, photos, maps, and video.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Scholarly article abstracts, includes full text links to JSTOR & other databases, covers US & Canada,1450 to present.
Cite Sources >>
Aug 11, 2017 12:03 PM
Login to LibApps