Skip to main content
Literary Explorations III: 17th Century Mini-Presentations
Search this Guide
Literary Explorations III: 17th Century Mini-Presentations: Clothing
IRC resources on entertainment, daily life, technology, religion, and the people of the 17th Century
English Civil Wars
Fire of London
Science, Steam, Telescope, Technology
War of Three Kingdoms
Lady Mary Banks
Jane Lane, Lady Fisher
Elizabeth Jane Weston
Search for different concepts and terms. For example:
clothing AND "17th century"
clothing AND "17th century" AND England
particular pieces of clothing
Collection of 2,000s+ scholarly journals and primary documents in a variety of subjects including history, literature, and science. Note: some titles have an embargo on the most recent year(s). Ask the IRC for details.
History Reference Center
Full text reference and non-fiction books, history journals, documents, biographies, photos, maps, and video.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Scholarly article abstracts, includes full text links to JSTOR & other databases, international coverage (except US & Canada), pre-history to present.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment
Call Number: Ebook
See section on Fashion.
Dressing the Elite : clothes in early modern England
Call Number: 391.00942 VINCDRES2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Fashion in the Time of William Shakespeare
Sarah Jane Downing
Call Number: 391 SHAKDOWN2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-21
Glasgow Museums seventeenth-century costume
Call Number: 391.0 QUINGLAS2013
COVINGTON, SARAH. "Clothing." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 1. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 545-549. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Dec. 2015.
Tortora, Phyllis. "Europe and America: History of Dress (400–1900 C.E.)." Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Ed. Valerie Steele. Vol. 1. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. 418-428. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Dec. 2015.
"Seventeenth-Century Clothing." Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages. Ed. Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast. Vol. 3: European Culture from the Renaissance to the Modern Era. Detroit: UXL, 2004
May 8, 2018 10:00 AM
Login to LibApps