Skip to main content
Literary Explorations III: 17th Century Mini-Presentations
Search this Guide
Literary Explorations III: 17th Century Mini-Presentations: Education
IRC resources on entertainment, daily life, technology, religion, and the people of the 17th Century
Fire of London
Opera & Theater
Science, Steam, Telescope, Technology
English Civil Wars
Elizabeth Jane Weston
Lady Mary Banks
Jane Lane, Lady Fisher
Search for different concepts and terms. For example:
education AND "17th century"
Collection of 2,000s+ scholarly journals and primary documents in a variety of subjects including history, literature, and science. Note: some titles have an embargo on the most recent year(s). Ask the IRC for details.
History Reference Center
Full text reference and non-fiction books, history journals, documents, biographies, photos, maps, and video.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Scholarly article abstracts, includes full text links to JSTOR & other databases, international coverage (except US & Canada), pre-history to present.
Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Joyce E. Salisbury
Call Number: Reference 390 SALIGREE2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Check index for Education: England (17th century)
GRENDLER, PAUL F. "Education." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 2. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 232-242. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 9 Dec. 2015.
GRENDLER, PAUL F. "Universities." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 6. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 98-103. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 9 Dec. 2015.
HOUSTON, R. A. "Literacy and Reading." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 3. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 517-520. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Dec. 2015.
Education in Early Modern England
Helen M. Jewell
Call Number: 370.942 JEWEEDUC1998
Publication Date: 1999-02-15
The Growth of English Education, 1348-1648
Michael Van Cleave Alexander
Call Number: 370.942 ALEXGROW1990
Publication Date: 1990-10-01
Hope Deferred: Girls' Education in English History
Call Number: 371.8220941 KAMMHOPE2010
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Seventeenth-century England : a changing culture. Vol. 1, Primary sources
Call Number: 942.06 HUGHSEVE1980
This book will appeal to readership interested in the seventeenth-century. The extracts range from private diaries and letters to literary works and formal constitutional programmes.
A Social History of England, 1500-1750
Keith Wrightson (Editor)
Call Number: 306.09420903 WRIGSOCI2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Everyday Life >>
Nov 6, 2017 12:06 PM
Login to LibApps