Skip to main content

Music and Fine Arts: Articles

2 ways to search (Search Box & Individual Databases)

Try both types of searches:

Search Box on IRC homepage (multiple databases simultaneously)

  • Enter keywords
  • Capitalize Boolean operators: AND OR
  • Use double quotes for phrases: "game theory"
  • Use * for variant endings: "statistic*"

            Search

  • On search results page refine your search using options on left side:
    • Limit to "items from scholarly publications including peer review"
    • Exclude newspapers
    • For books: limit to items in the library catalog or book reviews, for ex.
    • Consider Subject Terms
    • Limit Publication Date
    • Specify Language

Power Search (by individual database)

  • Link to a specific database -- see lists on right
  • Use Expert Searcher Tips below

    Expert Searcher Tips for Searching Databases ->

    • Use strong keywords
    • Try Advanced Search and group keywords by concept: Use OR between synonyms; use AND between major concepts
    • Note where keywords are searched: Narrow results by searching in Title or Keywords of article; broaden by searching in Text or All Fields
    • Search multiple endings of a word: Use asterisk: statistic* for statistic, statistics, statistical
    • Search exact phrases: Use double quotes: "vector graphics"
    • Limit results: Choose publication years, scholarly or peer-reviewed, full text, etc.
    • Sort results: Choose most recent first or most relevant first

      Music/Fine Arts Databases

      Multidisciplinary Databases