Ancient Medical Texts in Translation: Secondary Sources

For millennia, the culture of the ancient Egyptians has fascinated historians and spiritual seekers. The 20th anniversary edition of this seminal work includes all-new material analysing the progress in modern Egyptology. Written some 3,500 years ago, the Papyrus of Ani is the best-preserved example of Egyptian thought. Including full-colour hieroglyphic images paired with an acclaimed translation and two gatefold spreads that showcase the papyrus's elaborately bordered images. This sumptuous edition brings to life one of humanity's finest spiritual treasures.

This book re-examines a short gynecological manual from the Papyrus University College 32057, housed at the Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, London. The volume presents thirty-four cases in hieroglyphics, transliteration, and translation. A comment section highlights cardinal data, classifies ingredients, and evokes the mental processes at work. The volume ends with a glossary of lexical elements.

Herophilus, a third-century B.C. contemporary of Euclid, was the first Western scientist to dissect the human body, making significant contributions to anatomy and other medical fields. Von Staden's book compiles fragmentary evidence about Herophilus, providing Greek and Latin texts with English translations and commentary. It also covers the Herophilean school's developments after his death and offers valuable insights for those interested in the history of science, medicine, or Greek intellectual culture.

Egyptian medical papyrus of herbal knowledge dating to c. 1550 BCE represents the most extensive and best-preserved record of ancient Egyptian medicine known. It contains many incantations meant to turn away disease-causing demons and there is also evidence of a long tradition of empiricism.
The ancient Egyptians seem to have known little about the kidneys and made the heart the meeting point of a number of vessels which carried all the fluids of the body—blood, tears, urine and semen.

Mental disorders are detailed in a chapter of the papyrus called the Book of Hearts. Disorders such as depression and dementia are covered. The descriptions of these disorders suggest that Egyptians conceived of mental and physical diseases in much the same way.

The papyrus contains chapters on contraception, diagnosis of pregnancy and other gynecological matters, intestinal disease and parasites, eye and skin problems,[6] dentistry, the surgical treatment of abscesses and tumors, bone-setting, and burns.

The Bower manuscript, found in a Buddhist stupa near Kucha, China, contains seven fragmentary Sanskrit treatises written in early Gupta script on birch bark, dating from the 5th to early 6th century. Among the treatises, three focus on Ayurvedic medicine, two address divination by dice, and two provide incantations against snake bites, with some invoking both Buddhist and Hindu deities. The manuscript also includes excerpts from the Bhela Samhita and shares similarities with other ancient Indian medical texts, indicating the cross-cultural exchange of ideas between India, China, and Central Asia.

The original work by Ayurvedic scholar, Shri Priya Vrat Sharma, serves as both a foundational reference and an essential starting point for those seeking to explore the field of Ayurveda.
Four volume set.

Ayurveda, the ancient art of healing, has been practiced in India for more than two thousand years and survives today as a living medical tradition whose principles are at the heart of many "alternative" therapies now used in the West. This "science of longevity" has parallels with Buddhist thought, and advocates a life of moderation through which the three humors of the body will be brought into balance. The writings selected for this volume are taken from Sanskrit medical texts written by the first Ayurvedic physicians, who lived between the fifth century b.c. and the fourteenth century a.d. Here readers will find wide-ranging and fascinating advice on the benefits of garlic therapy, prayers for protection against malevolent disease deities, surgical techniques, exercise regimens, the treatment of poisons, the interpretation of dreams, and more.
Caraka's Compendium -- Suśruta's Compendium -- The uses of garlic (from the Bower Manuscript) -- Kaśyapa's Compendium -- Vāgbhaṭa's Heart of medicine -- Śārṅgadhara's Compendium.

Ancient Sanskrit text on medicine and one of the most important such treatises on this subject to survive from the ancient world. The Compendium of Suśruta is one of the foundational texts of Ayurveda (Indian traditional medicine), alongside the Charaka-Saṃhitā (above spelled Caraka), the Bhela-Saṃhitā, and the medical portions of the Bower Manuscript. It is one of the two foundational Hindu texts on the medical profession that have survived from ancient India.

This book presents a new translation of the *Susruta Samhita*, a 2500-year-old surgical treatise by Susruta, the father of surgery, and condenses the original work into fourteen chapters using modern medical language. It covers a wide range of medical fields, including surgery, anatomy, pediatrics, pharmacology, psychiatry, and more, while also addressing topics like poisons, student training, and newborn care. The translation emphasizes Ayurveda's holistic approach to medicine, offering an alternative to the limitations of allopathic medicine and providing valuable insights for medical historians, practitioners, and Sanskrit scholars.

Religion & the Decline of Magic is Keith Thomas's classic history of the magical beliefs held by people on every level of English society in the 16th and 17th centuries and how these beliefs were a part of the religious and scientific assumptions of the time. It is not only a major historical and religious work, but a thoroughly enjoyable book filled with fascinating facts and original insights into an area of human nature that remains controversial today- the belief in the supernatural that still continues in the modern world.

Drawing in particular on physicians' casebooks, Medical Practices, 1600-1900 studies the changing nature of ordinary medical practice in early modern Europe. Combining case studies on individual German, Austrian and Swiss practitioners with a comparative analysis across the centuries, it offers the first comprehensive and systematic overview of the major aspects of premodern practitioners daily work and business - from diagnostic and therapeutic approaches and the kinds of patients treated to financial issues, record keeping and their place in contemporary society.

This book examines the multifaceted relationship between Buddhism and medicine, focusing on modern and contemporary texts from across the Buddhist world, covering the period from 1600 to the present. It compiles translations and insights from over 40 scholars, exploring themes such as colonialism, science, globalization, and changes in tradition. Organized thematically, the book provides historical and cultural context for each text, with an introduction, glossary, and geographical appendix to guide readers through the subject matter.

These sources explore in detail medical topics ranging from the development of fetal anatomy in the womb to nursing, hospice, dietary regimen, magical powers, visualization, and other healing knowledge. Works translated here include meditation guides, popular narratives, ritual manuals, spells texts, monastic disciplinary codes, recipe inscriptions, philosophical treatises, poetry, works by physicians, and other genres. Altogether, these selections and their introductions provide a comprehensive overview of Buddhist healing throughout Asia.

*The Body Incantatory* explores the pervasive role of incantations in Buddhist practice in late medieval China (600-1000 C.E.), focusing on material forms like amulets, inscribed stones, and spell-carved pillars. Paul Copp examines how these physical objects, along with manuscripts and prints, reveal hidden histories and logics of Buddhist rituals, especially through the study of two significant Buddhist spells or dharani. The book challenges traditional views by highlighting the diverse and embodied practices of medieval monks, ritual healers, and laypeople, offering new insights into the significance of incantation in medieval Chinese, Central Asian, and Indian Buddhism.

This book examines the multifaceted relationship between Buddhism and medicine, focusing on modern and contemporary texts from across the Buddhist world, covering the period from 1600 to the present. It compiles translations and insights from over 40 scholars, exploring themes such as colonialism, science, globalization, and changes in tradition. Organized thematically, the book provides historical and cultural context for each text, with an introduction, glossary, and geographical appendix to guide readers through the subject matter.

These sources explore in detail medical topics ranging from the development of fetal anatomy in the womb to nursing, hospice, dietary regimen, magical powers, visualization, and other healing knowledge. Works translated here include meditation guides, popular narratives, ritual manuals, spells texts, monastic disciplinary codes, recipe inscriptions, philosophical treatises, poetry, works by physicians, and other genres. Altogether, these selections and their introductions provide a comprehensive overview of Buddhist healing throughout Asia.

The *Ben Cao Gang Mu*, published in China in 1593, was the most comprehensive encyclopedia of natural history and medicine of its time. Written by the physician Li Shizhen, it spans fifty-two chapters and compiles two millennia of wisdom on plants, animals, minerals, and artificial substances used in medicine, enriched with his own observations. This anthology provides unique insights into China's historical knowledge of nature, traditional Chinese medicine, ancient Chinese society, and the scholarly practices of the sixteenth century.

First published in 1998. This study uses the Mawangdui Medical Manuscripts to form a basis for information about early Chinese medical literature. Since the 1970S there has been a succession of manuscript discoveries in late-fourth to second century B.C. tombs in several regions of China, the provinces of Hubei and Hunan being particularly fertile ground for manuscripts. The medical Mawangdui manuscripts are part of a large cache of manuscripts discovered in 1973 in Mawangdui tomb 3, situated in the north-eastern part of the city of Changsha, Hunan.

This book clarifies the complex concepts in ancient Chinese medical texts, particularly those related to Cold Damage (Shang Han Lun), drawing from over thirty years of medical practice and study. The author explores the cultural, philosophical, and scholarly context of these texts, helping modern practitioners understand their clinical applications. It also delves into specific medical theories, such as the six conformations, zang-fu organs, qi and blood, and tai yang theory, offering valuable insights for both practitioners and scholars of Chinese medicine.

Excerpts and references

a comprehensive analysis of the Huang Di Nei Jing Su Wen, examining its origins in the final centuries B.C.E. and its development into the text known today. The work explores key concepts such as yin-yang, the five-agents doctrine, qi and blood, disease theories, and acupuncture, as well as the climatological theories added in the Tang era. Unschuld also highlights the Su Wen's innovative approach to medicine, emphasizing environmental factors and natural laws as causes of disease, while setting the foundation for comparing Chinese and European approaches to health and illness.

Drawn from ancient documents of Chinese and Tibetan medicine, and including explanatory commentaries and over 700 drawings from the original texts, this book presents authentic ancient Qigong forms in an easy-to-follow format. Focusing on health practices, the selected forms also include Qigong for more esoteric purposes.
Exercise Movement Techniques -- Massage -- Medicine -- Chinese Medicine -- Chinese Traditional Medicine -- Chinese Traditional methods -- Qi gong-- Qigong Self Care -- Self-care -- Health -- Self-care Health

The *Shang Han Lun*, authored by Zhang Zhong Jing, has been a foundational text in traditional Chinese medicine for nearly two millennia, focusing on drug therapy and clinical treatment theories. This edition includes the Chinese text, Pinyin transliteration, and English translation of the Song Dynasty version, along with extensive notes and commentaries to clarify clinical symptoms, terminology, and theoretical foundations. The introductory material and appendices offer valuable context, while the glossary and Pinyin-English index make it an accessible reference for modern practitioners and students.

The *Yellow Emperor's Classic* is a foundational text in Chinese medicine, offering the historical and philosophical basis for practices like acupuncture and the harmony between humans and nature. Ilza Veith's translation, accompanied by an introduction and a new foreword by Ken Rose, highlights the text's importance in both traditional and modern medical practices, particularly in the West.

The *Hippocratic Corpus* consists of about sixty medical works from ancient Greece, representing the largest surviving collection of early Greek prose. This book analyzes each work individually, offering summaries, discussions of their content, and contextual analysis to highlight their relevance both within the corpus and to broader Greek life. The volume provides a comprehensive introduction, making it an essential resource for scholars and students studying ancient Greek medicine and society.
Origin and development of Greek medicine -- Aspects of the art of medicine -- Intellectual context -- Hippocrates and the 'Hippocratic' corpus -- Principles and methods -- Grouping and approaching the 'Hippocratic' works -- Reading and interpreting the 'Hippocratic' works -- The 'Hippocratic' works.

Galen was a Greek physician, surgeon, and philosopher who lived in the Roman Empire during the 2nd century CE. He made significant contributions to medicine, particularly in the fields of anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology. His medical theories and writings were highly influential for over a thousand years, shaping the practice of medicine in both the Western and Islamic worlds. Galen's extensive works, based on both his own observations and the writings of earlier scholars, became foundational texts for medieval and Renaissance medical education.

*The Alphabet of Galen* is an English translation of a Latin text that catalogs nearly three hundred natural products, including metals, herbs, and animal materials, along with their medicinal uses. This work is a Latin translation of earlier Greek writings on pharmacy, now lost, and circulated among key medical authorities such as Hippocrates, Galen, and Soranus. The book features unique pharmacological descriptions and linguistic insights, offering valuable context on medieval translations of ancient science and advancing our understanding of historical medical practices.

Dioscorides' *De Materia Medica*, a five-volume work written in the first century, was regarded as the foremost authority on drugs for over 1,600 years, yet its most valuable contribution—his method of classifying drugs based on clinical testing—was overlooked due to an omission in his writing. John M. Riddle's study reveals that Dioscorides developed a natural order for categorizing drugs from plants, minerals, and animals, based on their affinities as observed through his acute clinical skills. This method, which anticipated modern chemical relationships and classifications, was a groundbreaking scientific achievement that, if fully understood, could have significantly influenced the development of chemistry and medicine.

This sourcebook provides an expansive picture of medicine, health, and healing in ancient Greece and Rome. It includes a wide-ranging collection of textual sources - many hard to access, and some translated into English for the first time.

Galen of Pergamum (129-?199/216), physician to the court of the emperor Marcus Aurelius, was a philosopher, scientist, and medical historian, a theoretician and practitioner, who wrote forcefully and prolifically on an astonishing range of subjects and whose impact on later eras rivaled that of Aristotle. Galen synthesized the entirety of Greek medicine as a basis for his own doctrines and practice, which comprehensively embraced theory, practical knowledge, experiment, logic, and a deep understanding of human life and society. Method of Medicine, a systematic and comprehensive account of the principles of treating injury and disease and one of Galen's greatest and most influential works. Enlivening the detailed case studies are many theoretical and polemical discussions, acute social commentary, and personal reflections.

Book I: survey of Greek schools (Dogmatic, Methodic, Empiric) of medicine & dietetics.
Book II deals with prognosis, diagnosis of symptoms, and general therapeutics.
Book III addresses internal ailments, fevers, and general diseases.

Galen of Pergamum (AD 129-?199/216), physician to the court of the emperor Marcus Aurelius, was a philosopher, scientist, and medical historian, a theoretician and practitioner, who wrote forcefully and prolifically on an astonishing range of subjects and whose impact on later eras rivaled that of Aristotle. Galen synthesized the entirety of Greek medicine as a basis for his own doctrines and practice, which comprehensively embraced theory, practical knowledge, experiment, logic, and a deep understanding of human life and society. In the three classic works in this volume, On the Constitution of the Art of Medicine, The Art of Medicine, and A Method of Medicine to Glaucon, Galen covers fundamental aspects of his practice in a lucid and engaging style designed to appeal to a broad audience.

Comprehensive medical text from the 7th century considered a landmark in the history of surgery, detailing various surgical procedures, treatments for diseases, and detailed descriptions of anatomical structures, with particular emphasis on techniques for extracting arrows and managing wounds, making it a key influence on later Islamic medical practices; it is considered the only surviving Greek medical text from antiquity that discusses arrow extraction in detail.

Galen's medical work became highly influential, spreading throughout the Roman Empire and into the Islamic world, where it was preserved and expanded upon, later forming the foundation of medieval and Renaissance medical education. He conducted animal dissections to study anatomy, providing authoritative descriptions of the circulatory, nervous, and musculoskeletal systems. His medical theory centered around the four humors, advocating for their balance to maintain health, and he wrote extensively on diseases, symptoms, and treatments. Galen also contributed to pharmacology, surgical practices, and integrated philosophy, drawing from the ideas of Plato and Aristotle to explain the body’s functions and health within the natural world.

Volumes 1, 2, 3, and 11
Volume I: Ancient medicine -- Airs, waters, places -- Epidemics I -- Epidemics III -- Oath -- Precepts -- Nutriment
Volume II: Prognostic -- Regimen in acute diseases -- Sacred disease -- The art -- Breaths -- Law -- Decorum -- Dentition
Volume III: On Wounds in the Head
Volume XI: Volume XI: Diseases of women I -- Diseases of women II

In *Al-Isharat wal-Tanbihat*, Ibn Sina (Avicenna) addresses the nature of bodies, souls, and existence, providing foundational insights into human health and the body. His medical philosophy, woven through his discussions of physics and metaphysics, reflects on the relationship between the physical and spiritual realms, which influenced his approach to medicine and healing. His thoughts on the soul's connection to bodily health and his views on the divine offer important context for understanding the broader implications of his medical work, especially in terms of maintaining balance and well-being.

Avicenna's *The Metaphysics* is the culmination of his monumental work, *The Healing*, where he explores the nature of existence and the concept of God, synthesizing Neoplatonic, Aristotelian, and Islamic ideas. He develops a theory of divine causation and discusses key topics such as divine attributes, providence, and the afterlife, while outlining his vision of a "virtuous" city governed by a philosopher-prophet. Through Michael Marmura's translation and annotations, Avicenna’s profound philosophical insights are made more accessible, highlighting his significant contribution to Islamic philosophy. This work remains a cornerstone in understanding classical Islamic thought, particularly its integration of philosophy, religion, and politics.

Avicenna's *Physics* is the first volume of his comprehensive encyclopedia, *The Healing*, and serves as the foundation for understanding his broader scientific and philosophical system. This work sets the stage for his later writings in psychology, metaphysics, and logic by addressing key principles such as motion, natural causes, and conditions for motion. While influenced by Aristotle's *Physics*, Avicenna's treatment of the subject is original, presenting a deep and innovative rethinking of Greek natural philosophy and the physical ideas of Muslim theologians. *Physics* is a crucial text for those studying Avicenna's philosophy, the development of science, and the intellectual history of antiquity.

1. The ancient Mesopotamian context -- 2. General health and public health practices -- 3. Infectious diseases -- 4. Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) -- 5. Genitourinary tract diseases -- 6. Gastrointestinal diseases -- 7. Metabolic and nutritional diseases -- 8. Heart, circulatory system, and lungs -- 9. Eyes, ears, and nose -- 10. Skin and hair -- 11. Bones and joints -- 12. Obstetrics and gynecology -- 13. Neurology -- 14. Trauma and shock -- 15. Poisons -- 16. Mental illness -- 17. Pediatrics -- 18. Dental and oral diseases -- 19. Ancient etiologies : the naming of disease patterns -- 20. Prognostics.