Primary Sources: Forms of Government

Revolutions in: Poland, Philippines, Chile, South Africa, Ukraine, and China.

Antonio Gramsci, a key theorist on class, culture, and the state, spent much of his life in prison, where he developed groundbreaking ideas on a wide range of subjects. This book offers the most comprehensive collection of Gramsci's writings in English, complete with an introduction by historian Eric Hobsbawm and helpful glossaries. It serves as an essential resource for anyone studying Marxism, political theory, or modern Italian history.

Pages 109-120 includes quotes on various tenants of classical liberalism from foundational works. Most of these works can be found in the IRC.

n this work, legal theorist and political philosopher Carl Schmitt argues that liberalism's basis in individual rights cannot provide a reasonable justification for sacrificing oneself for the state. George Schwab's introduction to his translation of the 1932 German edition highlights Schmitt's intellectual journey through the turbulent period of German history leading to the Hitlerian one-party state.

Classic and modern speeches, essays, poems, declarations, and documents on freedom and human rights worldwide.

Nearly 300 key documents are now readily available in translation.

This reader offers a selection of texts written by fascist thinkers and propagandists before and after World War II. With contributions from writers as diverse as Benito Mussolini and Primo Levi, Joseph Goebbels and George Orwell, the work provides insights into the depth and breadth of fascism.

Offers key doctrinal writings, political manifestos, and juridical documents, including Mussolini's "Foundations of Fascism" and the 1938 Manifesto of Race. By presenting these texts, it provides a more comprehensive understanding of Italian Fascism and its broader ideological influence.

Documents regarding revolutions in:
Spain, France, Great Britain, United States, Haiti, Latin America, Mexico, Brazil.

Volume 1: Europe, Americas, Japan, Korea
Volume 2: Remaining Asian countries, Middle East, Ukraine, contemporary revolutions

See: Primary Documents section

primary sources from the era encompassing the political, religious, and social tumult of the English Civil War. With a focus on Britain in the seventeenth century and covering topics such as astrology, scurrilous pamphlet wars, witch-hunts and trials, and the execution of King Charles I.

Contains sections on Fascism, Communism, and other forms of government.

See Thematic Table of Contents on page xli
Art - Bangladesh Formation - Caste - Christianity - Constitution - Democracy - East/West Comparisons - Economics - Education - Foreign Relations Post 1947 - Gandhi - Hindu Nationalism - Hindu Muslim Relations - Indian Nationalism and the Evaluation of British Rule - Kashmir - Language - Law - The Left (Communism, Marxism, etc) - Marathas - Mughal Decline - Muslim Nationalism - Nuclear Power - Religious Movements - Secularism - Self Determination - Sikhs - Uprising of 1857 - Violence & Non-Violence - Women

Contains documents in the following areas:
Overseas expansion in Asia, Africa, Europe & Americas
Atlantic World Encounters
State & Religion
Women, Marriage & Family: China & Europe
Scientific Revolution
Enlightenment & Revolution: Europe, Americas, India
Capitalism & Industrial Revolution
Colonization: Europe in Africa & Asia
Westernization & Nationalism: Japan, India & the West
World War I
World War II
Cold War
New Democracy Movements
Globalization

This book examines the development of Italian Fascism, and surveys the themes and issues of the movement. Beginning with the emergence of the united Italian state, sources go on to cover the political, social and economic status of Italy in the nineteenth century and the post-war aftermath of Fascism. The Fascist Experience in Italy provides analysis of printed and broadcast propaganda, as well as Mussolini's journalism and an extensive range of other source material, including images. The author includes new documentary material, previously unavailable in English, and thematic coverage of major topics such as the transformation of Italian agrarian and urban society and the actions of the Papacy.