Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IRC Search Box
Use the IRC Search Box to search for books, ebooks, and articles at one time.
- Select keywords
- Capitalize Boolean operators:
- "Harlem Renaissance" AND (literature OR poetry)
- Use double quotes for phrases: "Harlem Renaissance"
- Use * for variant endings
- Limit to particular source types (note: if you don't limit to IMSA owned/accessible sources, you will get results that include items only available at other libraries)
- scholarly articles
- materials owned/accessible at IMSA
Research & Reference Databases
Searching specific databases for articles can sometimes provide you with more search options than the all-in-one IRC search box.
Below are databases that are the most useful for the Harlem Renaissance.
Academic Search Complete
Full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines & news sources covering all academic disciplines
America: History and Life with Full Text
Scholarly article abstracts, includes full text links to JSTOR & other databases, covers US & Canada,1450 to present.
MLA International Bibliography
*literature from any country and in any language
*literary theory and criticism
*dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater)
*college-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition
History Reference Center
Full text reference and non-fiction books, history journals, documents, biographies, photos, maps, and video.
Collection of 2,000s+ scholarly journals and primary documents in a variety of subjects including history, literature, and science. Note: some titles have an embargo on the most recent year(s). Ask the IRC for details.