Primary Sources: Religion

The Greek mysteries of the grain mother and daughter, and related mysteries -- The Andanian mysteries of Messenia -- The Greek mysteries of Dionysos -- The Anatolian mysteries of the great mother and her lover, and the Syrian goddess -- The Egyptian mysteries of Isis and Osiris -- The Roman mysteries of Mithras -- The mysteries within Judaism and Christianity.

2 Volumes

Volume 1: through 1500s
Volume 2: 1500s - present

Contains documents in the following areas:
Overseas expansion in Asia, Africa, Europe & Americas
Atlantic World Encounters
State & Religion
Women, Marriage & Family: China & Europe
Scientific Revolution
Enlightenment & Revolution: Europe, Americas, India
Capitalism & Industrial Revolution
Colonization: Europe in Africa & Asia
Westernization & Nationalism: Japan, India & the West
World War I
World War II
Cold War
New Democracy Movements
Globalization

Contains documents in the following areas:
Prehistory & Origisn of Patriarchy to 1000BCE
Urban Revolution: Ancient cities in Mesopotamia, Egypt, & Peru
Caste societies in Greece & India
Empire & Government: China and Rome
Gender, Sex & Love: India, China & Mediterranean
Religions: Hindu-Buddhist & Judeo-Christian
Spread of Universal Religions: Afro-Eurasia
Migrations, Trade & Travel: Movement of people, goods & ideas: Eurasia, Africa & Pacific
Love, Sex & Marriage: Medieval Europe & Asia
First Crusade: Muslims, Christians and Jews
Vikings & Mongols: Eurasia & the Atlantic
Black Death: Afro-Eurasia
Cities: European, Chinese, Islamic & Mexican
Environment, Culture & Technology

Collection of sacred works from numerous religious practices.

Divinities of primitives (pre-literate societies) -- African high gods -- North American Indians -- Polynesia, Colombia, Labrador, New Guinea -- Gods of the ancient Near East, ancient India, and Japan -- Greek gods and heroes, and the Iranian supreme being, Ahura-Mazda -- Islam: Allah and his prophet -- Myths of creation of the world -- A myth of beginning and end -- The creation of man -- Myths of the origin of death -- Myths of the flood -- Sacred world, sacred life, sacred time -- Origin and destiny of the soul -- and the powers of mana -- Types of sacrifice -- Rituals, oracles, prescriptions, devotion -- Prayers and hymns -- Patterns of initiation -- Gods, heroes, and death -- Death and the intermediate state -- Funerary rituals -- Egyptian conceptions of death -- The roads to the nether world -- Greek and Roman conceptions of death and immortality -- Orpheus myths -- Paradises -- The end of the world -- Messianic prophecies and millenarian movements.
Shamans and medicine men -- Holy personages -- Forms of asceticism -- Prophets and founders of religions -- Spiritual techniques and mystical experiences -- Techniques of yoga -- Japanese Buddhism -- Zen Buddhism -- Islam -- Different understandings of the human condition -- Humility, wisdom, tolerance -- Egyptian teaching -- Greek thought -- Jain belief -- A Buddhist emperor and philosopher: Ashoka -- Confucius -- Buddha explains the middle path -- The ultimate reality: questions and answers -- Reflecting on gods, the self, and the God.

Four Testaments brings together four foundational texts from world religions--the Tao Te Ching, Dhammapada, Analects of Confucius, and Bhagavad Gita--inviting readers to experience them in full, to explore possible points of connection and divergence, and to better understand people who practice these traditions

portable library of more than 1,000 primary texts from the world's major religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, and Daoism (Volume 1); Judaism, Christianity, and Islam (Volume 2). The anthology brings together foundational works--the Bhagavad Gita, the Daodejing, the Bible, the Quʹran--with the writings of scholars, seekers, believers, and skeptics whose voices over centuries have kept these religions vital.

Representative selections from Hindu, Confucianist, Taoist, Mohammedan, Buddhist, Judeo-Christian, and Zoroastrian sacred writings, chosen to convey the fundamental tenets and essence of each religion.

Excerpts from:
Hinduism
Jainism
Buddhism
Sikhism
Confucianism
Daoism
Shinto
Australian Aboriginal
Zoroastrianism
Judaism
Christianity
Islam
Baha'i Faith
Indigenous Religions of Africa
Indigenous Religions of the Americas

From the series: Sacred Books of the East.
Excellent translations of basic works in later Buddhism feature the Buddha-Karita of Asvaghosha, concerning the life and teachings of the Buddha. Additional documents include the Larger and Smaller Sukhavati-vyuha, describing the Land of Bliss, the Vagrakkhedika, the Larger and Smaller Pragna, two kernel statements of the Mahayana, and the Meditation Sutra of Amida Buddhism.

Containins dozens of selected Buddhist teachings, quotes and commentaries.

This is a translation of a Buddhist scripture which was originally written in Sanskrit but is best known to Buddhists through Chinese versions. It is one of the most influential and popular texts of Mahayana Buddhism, emphasizing the doctrine that there is only one path to enlightenment, the bodhisattva-path, and the principle that the Buddha is not to be delimited in time and space.

Volume 1: Early times - 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Antiquity - Confucius - Way of Laozi - Evolution of Confucianism - Legalists (Chinese Legalism) - Classical Culture - Imperial Order & Han - Codifying Confucian Canon - Economic Order - Later Daoism & Mahayana Buddhism - More Buddhism Chapters - Confucian Revival - Women - Ming Dynasty - Qi
Volume 2:
Challenges to Chinese Tradition - Popular Values - Response to Early Christian Contacts - Opening to West - Reform and Revolution - New Culture Movement - Communist Revolution - Modern China

The traditions represented include Brahmanism, Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism.

Volume 1: Earliest times to 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Japanese Dynasties - Early Shinto - Prince Shotolu - Chinese Thought in Japan - Nara Buddhism - Mahayana Univeralism - Spread of Buddhism - Way of the Warrior - Zen Buddhism - Shinto in Medieval Japan - Women's Education
Volume 2:
Ieyasu & Tokugawa Shogunate - Confucianism - Encounter with West - Confucian Revisionists - Haiku - Dutch Learning - 18th Century - Wa of the Warior II - National Learning Schools - Buddhism - Restoration - Seclusion v. Restoration - Japan, Asia & The West - Various sections on socialism, women, World War I & II, Post-War Japan

Volume 1: Early times through 16th century
Volume 2: 17th century to present
Volume 1:
Origins of Korean Culture - Rise of Three Kingdoms - Intro of Buddhism - Consolidation of the State - Rise of Buddhism (some on Confucianism and Taoism) - Poetry & Song - Local Clans & Meditation school - Koryo (includes Confucianism) - Military Rule - Buddhism - Popular Beliefs & Confucianists - Choson Dynasty - Social Life (includes Women) - Economy -

A selection of essential texts from the Pali canon, the earliest Buddhist scriptures.

Selection of writings from the most important moments in the history of Christianity.

This revised and expanded volume brings together a carefully-selected collection of primary sources drawn from medieval and sixteenth-century texts. Notable for its comprehensive coverage, it consolidates a broad range of important documents,which until now, have been scattered through numerous volumes of primary materials.

This volume reveals the ways in which the First Crusade changed the direction of warfare, religion, and perhaps history itself. By highlighting the theme of prophecy, the volume deepens students' understanding of the crusading ethos.

There are other versions of the Christian bible. Most are shelved in the 220 area. Please see Connie for assistance if needed.

See Thematic Table of Contents on page xli
Art - Bangladesh Formation - Caste - Christianity - Constitution - Democracy - East/West Comparisons - Economics - Education - Foreign Relations Post 1947 - Gandhi - Hindu Nationalism - Hindu Muslim Relations - Indian Nationalism and the Evaluation of British Rule - Kashmir - Language - Law - The Left (Communism, Marxism, etc) - Marathas - Mughal Decline - Muslim Nationalism - Nuclear Power - Religious Movements - Secularism - Self Determination - Sikhs - Uprising of 1857 - Violence & Non-Violence - Women

In this important project, Charles Tieszen provides a collection of primary theological sources devoted to the formational period of Christian-Muslim relations. This work provides introductions to authors along with representative selections in English translation. It is arranged according to the themes that emerge as Christians and Muslims encounter one another in this era. The result is a resource that offers students a better grasp of the texts early Christians and Muslims wrote about each other and a better understanding of the theological themes that are pertinent to Christian-Muslim dialogue today.

What emerges from these texts is a colorful portrayal of the many faces of ancient Christian women in their roles as teachers, prophets, martyrs, widows, deaconesses, ascetics, virgins, wives, and mothers.

Many other editions available.

Volume 1: Early times - 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Antiquity - Confucius - Way of Laozi - Evolution of Confucianism - Legalists (Chinese Legalism) - Classical Culture - Imperial Order & Han - Codifying Confucian Canon - Economic Order - Later Daoism & Mahayana Buddhism - More Buddhism Chapters - Confucian Revival - Women - Ming Dynasty - Qi
Volume 2:
Challenges to Chinese Tradition - Popular Values - Response to Early Christian Contacts - Opening to West - Reform and Revolution - New Culture Movement - Communist Revolution - Modern China

Volume 1: Earliest times to 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Japanese Dynasties - Early Shinto - Prince Shotolu - Chinese Thought in Japan - Nara Buddhism - Mahayana Univeralism - Spread of Buddhism - Way of the Warrior - Zen Buddhism - Shinto in Medieval Japan - Women's Education
Volume 2:
Ieyasu & Tokugawa Shogunate - Confucianism - Encounter with West - Confucian Revisionists - Haiku - Dutch Learning - 18th Century - Wa of the Warior II - National Learning Schools - Buddhism - Restoration - Seclusion v. Restoration - Japan, Asia & The West - Various sections on socialism, women, World War I & II, Post-War Japan

Volume 1: Early times through 16th century
Volume 2: 17th century to present
Volume 1:
Origins of Korean Culture - Rise of Three Kingdoms - Intro of Buddhism - Consolidation of the State - Rise of Buddhism (some on Confucianism and Taoism) - Poetry & Song - Local Clans & Meditation school - Koryo (includes Confucianism) - Military Rule - Buddhism - Popular Beliefs & Confucianists - Choson Dynasty - Social Life (includes Women) - Economy -

Volume 1: Early times through 16th century
Volume 2: 17th century to present
Volume 1:
Origins of Korean Culture - Rise of Three Kingdoms - Intro of Buddhism - Consolidation of the State - Rise of Buddhism (some on Confucianism and Taoism) - Poetry & Song - Local Clans & Meditation school - Koryo (includes Confucianism) - Military Rule - Buddhism - Popular Beliefs & Confucianists - Choson Dynasty - Social Life (includes Women) - Economy -

Volume 1: Early times - 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Antiquity - Confucius - Way of Laozi - Evolution of Confucianism - Legalists (Chinese Legalism) - Classical Culture - Imperial Order & Han - Codifying Confucian Canon - Economic Order - Later Daoism & Mahayana Buddhism - More Buddhism Chapters - Confucian Revival - Women - Ming Dynasty - Qi
Volume 2:
Challenges to Chinese Tradition - Popular Values - Response to Early Christian Contacts - Opening to West - Reform and Revolution - New Culture Movement - Communist Revolution - Modern China

Provides an introduction to the fundamentals of ancient Greek religious beliefs and rituals through a rich collection of ancient source readings.

The book is a collection of translations of primary texts relevant to women's religion in Western antiquity, from the fourth century BCE to the fifth century CE. The selections are taken from the plethora of ancient religions, including Judaism and Christianity, and are translated from the six major languages of the Greco-Roman world: Greek, Latin, Aramaic, Hebrew, Syriac, and Coptic.

The traditions represented include Brahmanism, Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism.

See Thematic Table of Contents on page xli
Art - Bangladesh Formation - Caste - Christianity - Constitution - Democracy - East/West Comparisons - Economics - Education - Foreign Relations Post 1947 - Gandhi - Hindu Nationalism - Hindu Muslim Relations - Indian Nationalism and the Evaluation of British Rule - Kashmir - Language - Law - The Left (Communism, Marxism, etc) - Marathas - Mughal Decline - Muslim Nationalism - Nuclear Power - Religious Movements - Secularism - Self Determination - Sikhs - Uprising of 1857 - Violence & Non-Violence - Women

Other editions of the Rig Veda (including ebooks): Rig Veda

one of the most important texts in the Sanskrit canon, indeed one of the most important surviving texts from any classical civilization. It paints an astoundingly detailed picture of ancient Indian life-covering everything from the constitution of the king's cabinet to the price of a ferry trip for a pregnant woman-and its doctrines have been central to Indian thought and practice for 2000 years. Despite its importance, however, until now no one has produced a critical edition of this text.

Only a few decades after the Spanish conquest of Peru, the third Bishop of Cuzco, Sebastián de Lartaún, called for a report on the religious practices of the Incas. The report was prepared by Cristóbal de Molina, a priest of the Hospital for the Natives of Our Lady of Succor in Cuzco and Preacher General of the city. Molina was an outstanding Quechua speaker, and his advanced language skills allowed him to interview the older indigenous men of Cuzco who were among the last surviving eyewitnesses of the rituals conducted at the height of Inca rule. Thus, Molina's account preserves a crucial first-hand record of Inca religious beliefs and practices

More than sixty authoritative new translations of key Islamic texts.

Texts from the Ibadi sect of Islam.

This documentary history of Islam from the advent of the prophet Muhammed to the capture of Constantinople by Sultan Mehmed, the Conqueror, is concerned with a period that extends from the 7th century to 1453; with a region that stretches from Western Arabia to embrace the Middle East, North Africa, and parts of Asia, tropical Africa, and southern and eastern Europe; and with people and states, which, amid many diversities, share a common acceptance of the faith and law of Islam. Bernard Lewis, a widely-known authority on the Middle East, here translates from original sources and documents works that present the sweeping civilization of Islam in all its vastness and glory.

The traditions represented include Brahmanism, Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism.

See Thematic Table of Contents on page xli
Art - Bangladesh Formation - Caste - Christianity - Constitution - Democracy - East/West Comparisons - Economics - Education - Foreign Relations Post 1947 - Gandhi - Hindu Nationalism - Hindu Muslim Relations - Indian Nationalism and the Evaluation of British Rule - Kashmir - Language - Law - The Left (Communism, Marxism, etc) - Marathas - Mughal Decline - Muslim Nationalism - Nuclear Power - Religious Movements - Secularism - Self Determination - Sikhs - Uprising of 1857 - Violence & Non-Violence - Women

In this important project, Charles Tieszen provides a collection of primary theological sources devoted to the formational period of Christian-Muslim relations. This work provides introductions to authors along with representative selections in English translation. It is arranged according to the themes that emerge as Christians and Muslims encounter one another in this era. The result is a resource that offers students a better grasp of the texts early Christians and Muslims wrote about each other and a better understanding of the theological themes that are pertinent to Christian-Muslim dialogue today.

That Which Is, known as the Tattvartha Sutra to Jains, is recognized by all four Jaina traditions as the earliest, most authoritative and comprehensive summary of their religion. Unique in bringing together classical commentaries from each tradition, this translation of the Tattvartha Sutra provides in one volume a detailed explanation of the universe, the place of humanity within it and the path through it to liberation.

Includes the Akaranga and Kalpa Sutras, two of the most important Jain sacred texts.

The traditions represented include Brahmanism, Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism.

Scripture and tradition -- Liturgy -- Tales of the saints and scholars -- Religious law -- Ethical literature -- Philosophy and theology -- Mystical literature -- Modern movements, modern thinkers -- Religion and politics -- Society and the Jews.

Volume 1: Earliest times to 1600
Volume 2: 1600 - 2000
Volume 1:
Japanese Dynasties - Early Shinto - Prince Shotolu - Chinese Thought in Japan - Nara Buddhism - Mahayana Univeralism - Spread of Buddhism - Way of the Warrior - Zen Buddhism - Shinto in Medieval Japan - Women's Education
Volume 2:
Ieyasu & Tokugawa Shogunate - Confucianism - Encounter with West - Confucian Revisionists - Haiku - Dutch Learning - 18th Century - Wa of the Warior II - National Learning Schools - Buddhism - Restoration - Seclusion v. Restoration - Japan, Asia & The West - Various sections on socialism, women, World War I & II, Post-War Japan

The traditions represented include Brahmanism, Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism.

See Thematic Table of Contents on page xli
Art - Bangladesh Formation - Caste - Christianity - Constitution - Democracy - East/West Comparisons - Economics - Education - Foreign Relations Post 1947 - Gandhi - Hindu Nationalism - Hindu Muslim Relations - Indian Nationalism and the Evaluation of British Rule - Kashmir - Language - Law - The Left (Communism, Marxism, etc) - Marathas - Mughal Decline - Muslim Nationalism - Nuclear Power - Religious Movements - Secularism - Self Determination - Sikhs - Uprising of 1857 - Violence & Non-Violence - Women