LibGuides: RISE Article Research &amp; APA Boot Camp: Finding Articles

Keywords & Search Strategies

Develop a list of keywords - not all authors use the same terms
- Strong nouns (cats, obesity, leukemia)
- Synonyms/alternate names/scientific names (cats OR feline OR felis OR Felidae)
- Language of the field (adolescents rather than teenagers)
DO NOT USE SENTENCES!

Example search for articles about leukemia in cats

(cats OR feline OR felis OR Felidae) AND leukemia

If you are searching Google Scholar after affiliating Library Links with IMSA, you may see this in your results:

2. Click on "Get It @ IMSA"

3. If required, login with your RISE OpenAthens account information (see page 1 "First Steps")

Google Scholar can be overwhelming with the number of results.

You may find it easier, particularly at first, to search smaller subsets directly.

Try some of the resources below.

American Chemical Society Web Editions
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
IEEE Articles & Conference Papers
A best bet for researching computer science, engineering, and technology topics. Includes all IEEE sources - journals, ebooks, conference proceedings.
Nature Journals
1869-present, some peer-reviewed content. Access to all journal content on the nature.com platform including archived content. Full text access includes 35 Nature-branded titles and 44 society titles. Partial full text available for other articles.
PLOS One
Research articles in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities. We evaluate research on the basis of scientific validity, strong methodology, and high ethical standards—not perceived significance.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PubMed
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
Science Direct
Thousands of peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in the physical, life, health, and social sciences.

Or any of the pre-print sources listed here.