Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IMSA Archives

“Preserving the present so the future will know its past”*

Acknowledgements

That IMSA has an Archives is the result of the past and continuing actions of many people. Charter Librarian and Archivist, Marti Guarin, realized from the very beginning that collecting materials for an archive would be essential to the history of IMSA, and the Hansen-Furnas Foundation helped that vision become a reality with a significant donation of funds to both what became the Library and also the Archives.

In 2018, the Hansen-Furnas Foundation awarded another substantial grant to the Archives, which made it possible to purchase new equipment and furniture for the Archives and also hire two part-time specialists to work on the IMSA Oral Histories and online Archives Finding Aid.* 

 

Over the years, Library staff, who found time in their already busy schedules, other adult volunteers, student service workers, and parents have all contributed their time and talent.  For several years, there was even a student Archive Club.  The efforts of donors of documents, images, publications and artifacts and contributors to the Archives Fund have also been essential. Altogether, a large debt of gratitude is owed all the many who have made the IMSA Archives what it is today.

Portions of this LibGuide have been informed by and adapted from LibGuides at the University of Pittsburgh, UNC University Libraries, Linfield University Library, and previously written policies from the IMSA Archives. A special thanks to Marti Guarin, Emily Holda and Sara Goek for providing thoughtful commentary on this guide. We gratefully acknowledge our colleagues' work.


*The 2018 Hansen-Furnas final grant report, Reaching Out: Expanding the Presence of IMSA's Archives Final Report

Top left photo: Emily Mellott '00 and Marti Guarin: Alumni Reunion; Archives Open House, 7.20.15

Bottom right photo: The embedded image is a link.

Donations

The Archives operates on a very limited budget and is currently directed by a Volunteer Archivist and the Archives/Library Liaison who work with volunteers; we therefore gratefully accept donations to the Archives Fund.

To make a donation:

  • Make out a check to IMSA and send it directly to the Archives at:

IMSA Archives
c/o Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy
1500 Sullivan Rd.
Aurora, IL 60657